transcript

Audiovisual Cultures episode 66 – Saved!

automated transcript

hello and welcome to body visual cultures the podcast explores different areas of the arts and cultural production I'm pulled up there and in this edition I'm sure she'll and I discussed see if the two thousand fourteen Peck said in a Christian high school huge thanks to membership Petri on dot com forward slash AP cultures for all your support it is especially appreciated during lock sign on at time of recording it's my only income at the moment if anyone else listen to this week's like to contribute in some way you can also donate to PayPal dot me forward slash PP a player or share the podcast with others you think would enjoy it listen I for further details at the end just so you're aware we do the some ableist homophobic terms that crop up in the film and while we respect individuals we reserve the right to be critical of religious doctrine towards the end there is also mention of suicide and domestic abuse I do hope you find this discussion you maybe what because of what they really just for one or two on Netflix Netflix now just pick some religious content to go through you must want to watch this this counts overtly as anti religious content or at least mildly critical of religion content so we watch saved exclamation mark styles in the opening credits I was saved exclamation mark in the form of a cross two thousand four directed by Brian Donnelly starring very team pick conte added this is the year of the passion of the Christ thrown out macaulay Culkin very handsome because normally I fall when she'll sit down watching a related symptoms I know some of the notes in %HESITATION kind I don't like going into this territory but we rented but if I can't have that now thanks for watching I thought phone for Cauley Culkin Mandy Moore yeah okay let's give it a try two thousand four all right yeah that's when I really got %HESITATION offset and I'm wondering if it's going to be one of those dark horse type ones I think this is the maintenance and the films this is something that he thought a little bit and sat at the back I think it was what was the name of the pastor for going to same organizers said the second time with the kids type of posture is going US descriptors so pastor skip says the one point you about Christian rock well somebody said to me there's not much difference these days between ordinary rock and Christian rock and he said well that's the point because you have to get the man you have to get them enjoying things and then hit them with the message and I feel like that's what that film in general was trying to stay we can talk about I'd say if you pray yeah well the only available that is how Christian culture in the U. S. works it just takes a thing which is popular time copies it slaps on a layer of Jesus year before last when I was teaching my religion and recent US from Marshall we watch leap of faith yeah which was %HESITATION nineteen ninety two film starring Steve Martin directed by Richard yes it seems on the outside to be highly critical of religion because Steve Martin is a faith healer who is a virtually a scammer and he's got a whole team of people who are really experts scammers one of the advisors on the phone what was a magician magicians are famous deep bunkers of faith he lives tradition I mean they're in front of it disposition of Mike's magicians of debunking people who actually spend have supernatural powers so some presents as quite scathing indictment of a particular flavor of Christianity yeah when we got to the end of it my students were of course having this discussion seminar I'm just very openly you hasn't open question for discussion said what starts to reckon this film takes one religion and one of my students rather than gently crawling from on the outside it's critical but I think perhaps the sentiments and there is none of that she just went that's the most endorsing of religion film I've ever seen and that's what you have because it is on us or why and they have that they want well it's because it looks like it's critical seven from the position of skepticism it then delivers a message in about the last ten minutes were essentially redeem some choice bits of the religion question as a result of obstructed it essentially goes these people don't count as true Christians but if we just sweep over us all right we'll find the order the nuggets at the center of Christianity there's real bars following and truth saved from twelve years later the more I think about it now I'm thinking it does exactly that exactly that structure is presenting as it is highly critical critical of speaking in tongues it's critical of both vehicles it is critical of religious hypocrisy it's far vertically critical of gay conversion therapy you know putting it on but it has a main character who's the antagonised here's the most use the same person and she's immoral and I'm ten different ways so yeah it's a very critical in all these ways in the last ten or so minutes has a sympathetic characters expressing these very well I'm sure Jesus is working in our lives anyway moment at this little bit of voice of animation by the main contribution for she says Mary when she says life so beautiful and complicated it couldn't possibly be just assumption of for Britain monster energy working in the universe there must be something broadly within us I know that the music at that point was quite GC it seems to go well yeah we're not actually going to hit you with a punch line which is a criticism of Christianity in front for the criticisms I've just been aimed at the people who it's far as if I'm going to get concerned don't count as to Kristen there is a slightly early if it is in the lead up to the climactic scene when married women protagonists starts to have a bit of a reconciliation with people he she's estranged from and some Christian rock is playing in the background and this is vague sentiments as god's working in your life I don't have it just occurred to me the gay conversion therapy in the film the gay character is sentenced to a place called messy house which is supposed to be a place that applies gay conversion therapy the guy conversion therapy it doesn't actually happen no agencies and if it's in a room with another person with the same affection commences and yeah come lovers because there's only two gay people and the whole obviously they're going to fall in love for him to say Hey day conversion therapy doesn't work on the surface that is going to because of a particular flavor of Christianity the claims and things on both sides of the Atlantic that you can pray the gay away but what goes on at this place isn't even gay conversion therapy so it seems that what is doing on a deeper level as it's going how old is worrying about people trying to convey that gay people no one's doing that business social home being brought about by this existence of the sacred texts in the existence of beliefs in homosexuality being wrong the main characters at the end there's still dripping with crosses that from this kind of new family where does the mother who's eighteen she just had a baby Mannering who hasn't conceived immaculately part of it causes some of Christianity that and I have a boyfriend who's the pasta son and aposs there here's been having an affair with the main characters of mom and the father of the baby whose guy and has his boyfriend there and then we can gather around and I got friends as well as your friends and family I'm fifty friends I got her crippled boyfriend the motif is we'll have a get back to basics of Christianity thing and the basics are of course a handful of choice bets very particular interpretation of some bits of the gospels in which Jesus is basically happy this seems to be the more I think about it smuggling underneath what looks like for his big I've read criticisms of Christianity it seems to be trying to slip out of gateway version extremely long it's kind of quite colorful life version yeah stance that's one built on tolerance and acceptance which you can get from the gospels if you ignore ninety five percent and that's what the staff all sorts I should cut everything except the chock full of my neighbor and love someone yeah it keeps coming to me more and more that the way that you can face any ideology and sacred text you can sell these actually mandated by the state says you can just read it we have a kind of buffet mentality which is on file already hold the same values that verse doesn't agree with that mandruss doesn't agree with it some disco disco disco because you got all that verse if I squinted could be said to agree with it so I'll come up with how you supposed to squint and put that in the yes pile no no no no no or there's one that doesn't stick it with that continuity of care that goes in the yes part of and you can do that with anything as long as a sacred text as long enough as long as it has a few thousand verses in it as I was running a recording but it was a time you can make it say absolutely anything that you want protected when most of its written and actually that means that you can balance of metaphorical interpretations this is the year of the passion of the Christ and this is its conciliatory what seems like a religious film making considering that and that is ultimately just going all I'm sure that all this Christianity stuff is just fine I'm sure that the people saying that you can pray the gay away I'm sure the people saying that I'm such charges a sim but they've just got a little wrong and Mary our main character does in the climactic scene rail against pasta skips when he says that on the six from the same she does well against him saying that it's his particular interpretation of that verse which is what he's been hearing too bad not the actual true religion this is interesting with merry she gets pregnant and quite an innocent way doesn't she and that's because her boyfriend's Jane during a summer at Matt sorry that he thinks he's gay she has a bit of a chat with Mandy Moore's character Henry stay gone regions this is everything on the firing range in the gun range for heather you face talking about it well you know she doesn't want to get right after anything so she's shooting fed human shaped targets yeah this is shooting the target and another area and she's saying you I need to be protected in case they get raped you know they're talking about that sort of thing and try to work for you what can she do the right thing what could she do try to help him she was very courteous person but I think it's heather you face that he says something quite flat bed to bite will you can pray to Jesus cherry was almost give you your virginity back so it's not a physical thing but it's a spiritual thing because if you've done it for him because they're having this discussion paper yeah by the very when it might be a good idea to have sex and that sort of stuff so king Jesus grungy back your spiritual virginity and so Mary then goes off thinking well I can do a deal with Jesus because if I do this to help train to turn him to make him realize he straight by having sex with him then I'll be doing it for Jesus right just to see if her boyfriend's from damnation and she'll just spirit she got her virginity back so that's what she thinks she has done so it's actually a very faithful anyway that's never brought up again she doesn't track her I don't know never again she just says I did it because I thought Jesus told me today that we could use the excuse or if %HESITATION for various things that's one of those early stage points over criticisms of religion because it goes this thing tells you that there are no consequences for your actions this thing courage's people to live consequence free yeah and living in that way leads to actual negative consequences even though the promise of you'll get your virginity back is couched by Hilary Faye in or you don't get your actual virginity by physical virgin to back there's nothing typical that changes as a result of Jesus giving you it is about Hey %HESITATION just give about your spiritual person and so it's just the way that it's couch there's already an admission of ineffectiveness tempted Jesus is present yeah even that element is taken back a little bit at the end because Jesus does make his presence felt market products when Hillary Frey drives have banned sideways into the big Jesus statue in his head falls off yeah yeah and she goes to court and there's a lot of swearing specifically blasphemous were victims of crime he does intervene he metaphorically into things simple and talk climax the sorts of putting back can to place these bits of Christianity of a Virginia based in previous incidents are not windows I'm just looking back at the dialogue for this climactic scene when Mary shouting opposed to skip about how no he's wrong about homosexuality as your first to some stupid idea of what you think god wants as if he's just invented the interpretation which says that the Vatican's Jackson's eighteen verse twenty two and twenty five thirteen as if they just didn't exist if he's imagined them start setting up the com possibly say in your book what it actually says in Newburgh that's a huge favor to Christianity and it may be that Brian Donnelly has zero religious beliefs whatsoever but even so he's made a film which essentially goes %HESITATION I'm sure your religion is fine I'm sure I can possibly say and the special but what it actually says station I'm really fascinated by the idea that this was purchased by Michael stipe of R. E. M. and I don't know very much by Michael sipes personal life I'm not really interested in non celebrity personal lives I think we should be personal lives unless they've done things that the rest this rainy often all right for safety reasons I don't know if he's religious or not I mean I suppose the office one to turn to their is losing my religion you'll be interested to know what his involvement what his motivation was he seems to have been involved a little bit and music as well Ian Monday Mar have done a cover of the beach police called on the nose for that closing credits of the film Microsoft comes from a line of Methodist minister okay but then I wasn't mean he is still even conceded no I face an actress question and if he's had a hard time because of their sexuality or anything or something probably to like and share if anybody's interested it's just the production side of this phone in the sort of music stars that are involved and that the music as you say that at some dependent sorry much independence Christian rock %HESITATION okay points for me the school doesn't overtly stated it's call them America our American Eagle the days of religious school of therapists it's an early Christians go but it's not many M. S. all right yes American Eagle yep you got it right American Eagle the school it doesn't state it's the nomination as are watching it I thought occurred during speaking in tongues but there can also cool they're doing music on stage and then when they started praying together they pray like that yeah I'm sorry yeah well sometimes one sometimes one usually to yeah but I want it and that's reason enough to go out thing backtest beyond what could be the entry for the film director and co writer Brian Donnelly based much of the film things he has experienced and witnessed while attending a Baptist Christian high school well while self five great yeah I don't think it was a difficult gas so that they'd be Baptists three five the thing up by its largest Protestant denomination in the United States this is a fact and also they're saying a healthy copies there and a Christian rock yeah having been to about this Sunday school and also went to a Methodist church I can really see the differences we looked into the some of the people there are in this and you want both while watching it so that even I I'm already in place Cassandra the one yeah he's call ethnically Jewish person who whoever is trying to get to complete this is like they're coming in the states that a Christine is a completed June and so the only one who's Jewish just hasn't yet realised the business side she didn't turn out every Jew has just made a mistake about missile if they convert to Christianity they've just completed they are so she's the one I think the Jewish girl at the school and it seems that she's basically an atheist yeah yeah following a non believer unbeliever yeah as far as we know your bones with Roland the brothers to Maine yeah brother of Hillary fi understatement macaulay Culkin yeah well this is interesting because I think the way we usually did a podcast by Miseducation of Cameron post and there is a non disabled after playing a disabled character and not fell missile this comes up again with macaulay Culkin I mean it's two thousand four I don't know if it gets a pass because it's before the woke times I don't know but it's just something to point out I'm not really running criticism are making a comment I'm just pointing it right that he's playing with real terrifying character in Plano I thought it was great I really enjoyed this performance it's really nice to see him because I haven't really seen any of this adult roles and he's quite young adult here he's only in his early twenties I think we covered in bone in nineteen eighty okay salute by twenty three twenty four when this was found here %HESITATION yes and he's held back a year so he's a year behind so that's why he's in the same year as his younger sister yes so he's actually by nineteen of a crowbar it is kind of getting it Michael could be very slightly older than the other actors it seems transaction is there any fake way eva Marie unite during the storm kept thinking independently one minute she takes remote class wine Dr Beth does she looks after my computer stuff and see Susan Sarandon's daughter that's so exciting yeah that was me going is it the mouse I could do nothing when you know you cover that someone's face up and you guys what is it that looks like something is from familia it was everything all rights are pretty distinctive and she had done and what kind of files so the second of five girls smoking all the time and not enough perfect car running shorts a skirt and have a good hat rolled up shirt sleeves rolled up the big banks she married actress thank Sandra went to a Quaker middle school a Quaker is essentially one foot out the door yeah because I favor that skill is non theist or say yes as well because you have non theists crackers yes and so just one cost members beliefs that seem to indicate what the bowl pock beliefs of the people involved in writing directing acting in this film on which is well I'm sure that this is true in some sense but clearly we have to throw most about and that that one bit when Mary the main character having decided that she just doesn't do Christianity anymore decides what after not picking your religion picks Chris she's trying not to be pregnant although having an abortion %HESITATION yeah what's been bookmarking the not having an abortion part of this from because the crystal healing thing is just a virtually certain to be nonsense you know she drops the crystal just trying to use to make yourself not be pregnant and so Christianity quickly gets resurrected as pun intended to Christy gets resurrected as the default position as something that's the less ridiculous of the positions because at least interesting if you're trying to have a relationship with a person wears she's trying to have a relationship with crystals she tries and you know the one where you can resurrect something that seems nonsense is you can go well he's thirty four other things there are there any alternatives and then more nonsense go to pick the least known since of the only five alternatives %HESITATION pick them off yes right films in which nobody even discusses having an abortion as a film that was supposedly really critical of my own views about sex and gender still not even mentioning the possibility of Hainanese Wilson Planned Parenthood was visibly are here at least he goes to a clinic I mean I think she just gets up to confirm her pregnancy at least there are actually a real thing and there was that one moment when Roland and Cassandra this together sing together account for something in the house the St yeah %HESITATION come out from parenthood because in the system and Michael is only one reason why she could have gone there and goes what you mean pipe bomb it was really funny it was delivered so sharply and quickly that was reviewed off I'd I funny having a sympathetic character articulate that that's a credible fear but that shows you the mall protests saying fire fight the clinic yeah hustling a young woman he then change your mind they've got all those posters of you know with some life Terry and the others right %HESITATION structures of the fetus really exaggerated stuff like that to guilt people into turning back you know them all hurrying and like bang when they get somebody change your mind there's just something went into separate yet doesn't deal with the possibility that she kids gather all to go away by having an abortion for at least even talking straight you know she goes to the clinic but you don't see anything inside the clinic C. Carly Spencer CCM born Jesus of children Jesus loves him Terry you know and it's really emotionally charged me left me %HESITATION it's hurtful it's really damage and these protests going on right side abortion and family planning clinics are really really harmful this film sits in a sub genre of specifically teen pregnancy from Sierra not firms around the coming a month she know must've been around this time as well there may be a bit later than this but roughly yes this time later than us maybe to have a six or seven or something it was it was a late north sea's sector firms general breakaway hit on someone knocked up came afterwards two thousand seven right yeah because at least in Juneau Juneau does go and try to go to an abortion clinic and this changes the mind works is that that's right the norm is that in the majority of films characters no matter how critical they are as people's views about being pregnant a lot of critical error of ideologies of any kind they never even mention yeah thinking about getting an abortion with Mary here our new market actually conceiving married it's just not brute fact of her life she finds out that she's pregnant and she puts a black mark on a certain day in her diary which is now how do you do about that so even this phone which goes we're gonna criticize this this this and this common health attitudes amongst his Christian kids and the teachers even this film will not even mention the possibility of a main character having an abortion mentions abortion has been protesting against answer when they're in the kind of early even all state and so impressively goes there's something wrong here but then goes the thing that's wrong is not preventing women from having abortions it's something like I'm just being shouted at them this phone is becoming more and more apparent as being greedy pro Christian just in such a way as to appear to be overtly anti Christian so I'm I'm adding this to my module as a film but I suggest you can get the tear them too because it's great to discuss the issue of whether from that seems to take one stance might actually be taken out of that one just think about it by the team pack and I wanna trying come to the race some point because we're honest of the moments where the face frame of the Christian Djoos service funds name for Hilary Faye merry on what sailor maker's name I have forgotten everybody Sam I forgot everything except the name of the school and the second record for on the at the time yeah okay she's quite interesting because she's this third way you thought they go into their little found their little girl band fronted by Mandy Moore's character so of course she's a good one because she's quite popular pop singer at this time price it's not really my world but thank you can you know he said and so thorough naked thought right there quite early on in the file that shoes she them accepting her and her being one of them she is not a part of this little bond that they have called the Christian Jews to get laid up in a tiny bit of boxer she's a fairly superficial characters comes under a tiny back towards the end of the file %HESITATION there's just something about that she's been adopted from Vietnam by your parents who with %HESITATION doing mission missionary work and who are African American it looked like because no person who isn't white apart from this one person of Vietnamese origin yeah everybody else is background with no speaking roles she's the one person he isn't a white person he has some lines and she doesn't have very many lines one moment this is what he's meant to be what you see please Indian when he if he is at the problem and he's got the top notch thing now I don't even see that as Harold tied up he is literally just doing this from sweet summer racially diverse a couple of after American kids to school background sometimes there's nobody else to flying yes this is a yeah why are you white worlds very Arian but then this is based on buying Donnelly's chartered experiences you may have been a very white school and this is sitting near Baltimore but it was filmed in Vancouver yes as is the norm with interamerican after the fight right actually so even the music in there and just getting somebody like mom Diemer I keep changing our parent's name because my mom's maiden name this summer but most people would say Monday more say Monday more so I'm very confused about how to say her name nine the mobile Monday Mar yeah that's what you're saying visit okay fine then but if it's M. R. U. R. it's near right near yeah that's a resident there all different spellings of the same name it's true I I I'd leave you from when people didn't really have literacy that's why you have M. O. R. E. and W. R. E. and the I. R. they're all the same name yeah Monday Mar using using more modern we have an opening set into sixth man in my Anna might find different every time a serenade but yeah she was one of those pop starlets but I think probably quite clean one around the same time and she has Britney spears to say I don't know huge amount by terror because I was more of a cost grunge punk ash area person turned a deaf person well we clicked in spite of not having been to an American high schools we still click click some nonspecific American teen movies no but I think they're just very nice and the sting movies because you have to click you have the little girl great but they've got their took each and parks and he's basically just another white girl when merry transgressions and ends up leaving the folds because she's come a black sheep type percentages very quickly replaced by a character he has some trades quite regularly early on as a really annoying person but she clearly wants to be one of them she wants to be there French with something I'm with them all the time she wants to be one of them she's perfectly cost is having a great yeah she was very familiar to me as well hello T. is silent he wants the tiara okay the yes it's here he's another longer out there's a really interesting class divide that is not really a lesson they gone into by implicitly through this character tia is Hilary Faye and Roland seem to have come from a ferry money timely and Hilary Faye especially between the two of them gets so much of what she wants follow she's quite somewhere that she's had to get this vitamin type car so that she can Carter and her wheelchair using browser she makes him pretty dependent on her to do that and she gets that car instead of the really expensive selain type card that she really actually once she goes and gets a boutique makeover for prom she hired a limo to take her to the problem she's always wearing revealing clothes yes yeah lot of me yes sign quite orangey skin care on the other hand it's pointed out eight you rediscover her she unfolds quite late where she's working several jobs and they're just throw away it seems %HESITATION way but it's actually there's a lot of information there where we find out that she's saving up for a car of her own so she does not parents he would just give her a car by a car for her she has to work really hard janitor stop so she's somebody who's probably from a working class family and is trying to make goods and and pay for social mobility as she confronts the tiara and she gets it as she was not just that she's angry that she wants something and gets it I think the balik about that it seems she's working really hard she's working up the ranks so socially she's working up the ranks in many ways in terms of her social class but in terms of her click something as well the social class structure within the school doesn't unseating %HESITATION Ferris took a seat that goes on yeah definitely yeah it's been such a long time but please see this if you ever get a chance but I'm a cheerleader does this sort of thing as well where it's the creeks it's you the cheerleaders the footballers you got the alternative Kate's but they're the ones who are supposed to be a guy but I'm a cheerleader I am specific boyfriend I'm not supposed to be K. and household box off of that seems really stereotypical but seems to be a stereotype that's grounded in reality from anyone I know he's from the United States where they've had that kind of high school experience straight days people just a ripoff and they have an identity that belongs to a group of kids and you even give it a team name the Christian jewels they're a band but it's also it's it's near the creek nine and he he wants to be part of it hi we meet hello refi in the beginning and she's giving the other girls the pin badges that she's had me it's that say Christian Jew it's one of the first accent she does is to prompt them so it's it's very much in the team pack this coalition public moments in this film and run them Mary first puts on her little pain stops there yeah hi Christian Juul pen hurt Sir yeah you can have a parking does harm the others %HESITATION and it's as a production art while it's right over there our hearts and our chance with both symbolically because Christianity is harmful to her and also goes isn't she cries like he suffers as she swapped out so easily so the badges just a bronze gets pinned on he ever gets to earn a place in history for it just takes it off remarkably quickly for one of those quite intricate little pin badges when merry criticizes really quite an articulate because I was assuming she says a prayer meeting yeah it's an asteroids into that's it your honor she betrays their friendship and that's a very early indicator that she's going to be somebody who's on trust worth eight and will be right for herself more than anybody else but in the name of Jesus because American fights and her friend who she thinks is her friend about dean being gay her boyfriend being K. get service wire secrecy to be dissuaded by the S. because he wants to try and fix it you know he wants to try the conversion therapy he believes the pump plants that he's going to be carers and he wants to try but then have every faith decides to hold this very publicly advertised prayer meeting to get that Phichit tree are defenseman coding there it's not a word I would use yeah there's a specific words this one of the film's well over two hundred key words on the internet movie database and I want to point out that the internet movie database is populated into friendly two hundred forty two Q. it populated entirely by content put in there by people who are obsessed with seeing things similar to films so yeah it's got key words like mother daughter relationship school pasta virgin Z. but it also has key words like Manchester Mayo close up of RT's and the word that they use is seeking applications %HESITATION and in fact this year look up the other phone that has that as a key word on IMDb all right easier way in which the protagonist played by Emma stone doesn't have sex with anyone but she pretends that she handles right yes yes from one county tells people that she has two main male characters at the school which goes to want people to think that they're not get you in so they can go what this girl and I had sex and if she's telling her we had six of them for composting because it because I had sex with someone it's reputational decay for cash rather than actually verification what are in safe exclamation mark it's not even the guys occasion the film seems to say okay conversion therapy doesn't even exist these places it just places where gay Christians can just get to know each other stay behind their life partner speakers to mingle all right and one last thing which we have learned today is that general learn who plays married the main character and you have something in common he was born on the other side of the Atlantic no I feel kind what else is she even really know much about her our word right yes she I think was in some of the hunger games all right and entire page just about it's to her credit hello stand okay so she was really a ban in the two thousand five care not you pardon prejudice Cena she was in three of the four hundred games from jurors in Batman versus Superman cover long term job I'm saying that terrible circle punch of unfairness jurors jury lab tech in the service hello for Alan though VC mais I've seen some she's been in many things yes she does not have an same Shi was didn't even seem contact it's not terrible leave the pharmacy in the sense of not for the opportunity is there for a reason the neon demon and your mind one for the call I'm rushing Dr guy yes you have the same drive on drive that's not the same it's not the same yeah yeah okay exam next film for what promises don't make promises whatever your part because his pending upon kept promises for this podcast for a day we still haven't done Paddington Terry we still haven't done all too many that have been requested it's not like you know the kind of patients who will moan at you if no that's right if you don't do the things that we promise we're gonna do and some of these things that people returning give me money last four women don't scream restless Hey my up soon this is still three months correct Sir okay %HESITATION no more this is this is it all right when I was thirteen it would seem that this is generated interest of reverse humiliation sorry sorry otherwise known as human beings if you have any other observations on this just wonders if the attacks to go into the little summary of critical responses on the wikipedia page four saves mark Roger Ebert and I have noticed the film's covert politics writes exactly in lockstep with intervention father here five cross I'm in the city but it's a very physical position is still a bit of a fiction was he thinks there is of course an accurate account of the Jesus of the Bible because he's getting reinvented is quite heavy resistance this is your man Jesus Rajiv no this would have come back when Roger Ebert himself was writing everything attributed to rotary park rather than Roger Ebert dot com our system running today whatever I want them we also watched one of us %HESITATION last night that was so good it's a really great documentary if you get a chance to say it's on Netflix Heidi Ewing and Rachel Hey who also directed Jesus camp and it's just brutally honest really powerful really really powerful man I saw a bigger people hear it from the headset G. community and New York City and are at various stages of trying to leave for at least not be as orthodox anymore just trying to expose something like this just last fundamentalists divide and it was really clear that these people in some cases have no religious place anymore but in all cases are still culturally Jewish yeah it's okay do you like the music the rituals the food that's culture thing is still part of what we do and yet they're trying to do it having been evicted from the acidic New York community now I suppose the reason why we didn't do a recording of a discussion about that is because that recording would have just been of us sitting clutching on these two artists rock %HESITATION I just settling out the just wanted to cut them sure enough I'm either people he has attempted to take care of my needs there was a woman who is getting her seven children torn away from her and this is a woman who was only thirty two years old and have seven children because she'd been married off at eighteen and then forced to have sex with an abusive husbands all three of them were being told by the people who they really cared about that the problem was with them it was we do want to be part of this group anymore the must be something wrong with you they were all taught that in various different ways in some cases really aggressively so will not discuss that one other than to go watch it and then have a lie down it is really well made it's very sensitive emails there's no over massive comments really it's just these individuals are damaged hello the young guy specially ari he separate seventeen when they start filming and he's nineteen by the end of it they seem different something over to the three year period and he seems just such a lovely sweet boy he just opens up more and more and he's trying to come to terms the fact that he was raped as a child by one of the instructors so a rabbi at a com guess either denial or well you message deserve to try flying C. no one no one's ever held to account for things like that you know they're these things that maybe don't overtly criticize a specific religion or specific people in a religious practice but there one set you watching you make your mind up and you say well on a human level why are we tolerating the city says why are we allowing them to be masked over it feels quite frustrating we can't engage with us because at Brzesko offending people will I find it really offensive set people rich children and that these women have really brought the essence it's been a pleasure right yeah thank you very much what we what Sadeq C. resembles what it was but it well I enjoyed it more and I thought it was going to the craziness windows in the days of the law to heads of violence and that's how he said thanks bye he is staying to utility of Asian cultures with me Paula Blair and Andrew she'll this episode was recorded and edited by Paul the player and the music is coming grind by error to use under a three point zero non commercial creative Commons license episodes released every other Wednesday already releases when availability Petri on members I'm also very grateful for donations to deliver a pay dot com forward slash P. E. AP there to support my writing as well as making the podcast be part of the conversation with Haiti cultures on Facebook and Twitter and Davey cultures pod on Instagram wash your hands stay home if you can and B. accent to yourselves and each other thanks so much for listening caption next time

Leave a comment